Noel

I have actually spent many December 25th’s away as my family would often choose to celebrate when it was easiest for everyone to be together. This has been nice because I can make Christmas last a little longer.

Because of this, I have not gone to Christmas Eve mass in a few years. The last time was in 2007, shortly after St. Anthony’s had been refurbished. My mom got the time wrong and we showed up 30 minutes late, which was awesome I only had to last through about another 15-20 minutes. This year I had a new person nagging me to go to mass. Mike said it would help him feel “Christmasy” so I agreed to go thinking at worst it would last an hour. We went to the  Notre Dame D’Afrique, which is modeled after a basilica in Marseille. We actually saw it from a distance when we were there, it was quite stunning a night. The one here had recently been awarded several million euros to refurbish and renovate it. The interior was lovely and traditional. So traditional that it did not appear to have heat and the pews were so small and narrow that I don’t think Mike could have kneeled if he wanted to.

The main priest who was officiating was from Poland and my impression was that he made up the service as he went along. There was what seemed like an impromptu introduction of the congregation- or audience members as I like to call them. First he asked all the Americans to stand up, everywhere else in the world this means more than US citizens so all the people from South America stood up as well. He then went around through the different continents, sometimes asking people what specific country they were from, like when the Africans were called on and the lone Algerian was called out and people clapped. It was quite odd and not very “Christmasy” It was sweet though when he forced all the uncomfortable children to carry the baby Jesus to the nativity scene.  I was also proud of our US representative that was volunteered to do a reading. She was complemented on her perfect French, no one needs to know that she grew up in Haiti.

There was no choir, only a Korean cello player. She did a very nice job and probably should have been left to play solo because the mumbling along in French by the audience members was not so pretty and I don’t think the priests were chosen for their vocal ability.  When mass ended everyone was invited for hot cocoa and pain au chocolate, which was very much appreciated after sitting in the cold for two hours. A Spanish  (from Spain) nun came over to talk to us and it was amazing how much of the language has been erased from our brains with trying to learn French but she thought I was Algerian at first anyway.

I might go back to the church when the weather is warmer just to see how the services compare.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment